New year, New you? Maybe…

I was just going to do a facebook post but I think I might have a lot to say so have a blog post! Last year sucked. There were good moments, far outweighed by the bad. People died needlessly, there was unrest and there still is a lot of chaos. So it would make sense to not worry about a new years resolution this year. Maybe just try and pick ourselves up off the floor (which it turns out is lava, ok?). But while I normally don’t worry about resolutions, this year is different. I’ll be getting an associates in accounting in… a few months, holy cow. I busted my butt to get a 4.0 so far and I’m aiming to keep it. Work has gotten progressively worse as corporate insists we don’t need all those hours because we have “self-cleaning” equipment (spoilers: nothing is ever really self-cleaning. I love this equipment but in order to maintain it you need to do more than they think.) We don’t need hero pay anymore apparently either although there’s still a pandemic and we’re more stressed and overworked than ever. But all of that doesn’t matter. I will be looking for a new job soon, in a field that might let me work from home eventually, and will definitely not leave me smelling like grease and fried chicken.

So my new years resolution this year? This year I’m taking care of myself. I’m going to find the time to keep up my hobbies, old and new. I’m going to try new recipes. New stories will be written. I have plans already started for a romance novel. If I want to eat nachos with homemade salsa that I made a bit too spicy, so be it. Take a long hot shower, buff my nails so they shine, crochet myself a scrunchy because I can do that.

The last year or two we’ve been trying to stabilize and figure things out, and through a wonderful support system and hard work we’re in an ok spot. My husband and I were lucky to not be hurt too bad financially by everything last year. Mentally, things have taken their toll but we’re getting better. I bought myself a new wardrobe for my job hunt and it made me realize how hard I resist doing things for myself, even necessary things like buying new clothes. I’m not gonna go too crazy with it, but this year that changes. I will crochet what I want, bake what I want, and play a ridiculous number of hours in farming simulator because I love riding in the heavy equipment and jamming to the fake radio. Because in 2021 my resolution is to remember I’m important too, just like everyone else, and I shouldn’t neglect myself. Hopefully everyone out there remembers this too, and takes care of themselves this year. We’re inexplicably alive on a rock hurtling through the void, so eat the cookie and enjoy yourself.

Leave a comment