What I got for $5 Pt. 3

Okay so maybe I played more games than I thought already. Like Night in the Woods, I found that I already owned some of these games, usually on Steam. Catlateral Damage is cute game where you’re a highly destructive kitten. You jump everywhere, knock stuff off shelves, and earn points and complete challenges. You can find power-ups, unlock new cats, and unlock pictures of cats from some of the original Kickstarter backers. I backed this on Kickstarter but not at that level since I don’t have a cat. It’s fun for a bit but not really a long-term game. I’ll boot it up when I want to be destructive.

I haven’t finished The Stillness of the Wind. I played it for a while and then had to do something else and I haven’t been able to go back yet. It’s beautiful, stylized and simplistic. You play an old woman on a farm in what is clearly the middle of nowhere. You wake up, feed the animals, harvest eggs and such. You do this at a very slow pace. This isn’t harvest moon or stardew valley. You’re not a fresh faced young person just starting up. Your character can run though. I found out early on if you pick up a stick and drag it through the dirt while running it leaves a trail. The character had the most adorable happy giggle when I did this and it was heartwarming. You’re alone. You have a journal, and you get letters from a postman who will chat and sell you seeds and buy cheese you can make and other stuff from you. Did I mention you make cheese? You have to sit and wait, but it’s worth it to feed this delightful old lady. I played through quite a few slow, peaceful days. I started farming a few crops, I got a letter from a relative who was talking about going into space when they graduate (what?!?) and I got pretty fond of seeing the mailman. Turned out there was mushrooms or something growing on an old stump out back too, so I regularly made the slow trip out to gather them since I couldn’t hop the fence (old lady, remember?) I also forgot my bucket out there once, since you can only really carry one item at a time, and had to go all the way back out to grab it so I could water the animals in the morning. I really need to go back and play more. I want to know who she is, why she’s all alone, why is she on this lonely farm… why is her relative going into space? Is she one of the last people still on earth? How can I eat so much cheese and not get sick of it? I originally got this game from humble bundle, but it’s worth having again.

Super Hexagon is a fast paced action game with minimalistic graphics. You’re a tiny triangle, on a hexagonal board, you move clockwise or counterclockwise around the board to avoid lines coming towards the center. The music is very energetic and this was fun to play for a while but I’m terrible at it. My reaction speed quickly fails me. If you’ve got better hand-eye coordination than me this is a fun one to just play for a while. I have it from humble bundle first, and I think even as a phone game.

Flufftopia is a cute little clicker game… at first. The second a mine showed up that I could employee the fluffy little inhabitants in I felt like something was off. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone though. It was interesting, cute as well. I kinda wanted to keep clicking more though, so I milked that part of the game while ignoring the story for a bit. I didn’t find a whole lot of replay value, but they just had an update so maybe I should go back in and see what changed.

One more for this entry, Hot Pot Panic. Full disclosure, I only sort of understand what Hot Pot is. It seems to be you cook up a bunch of tasty things in a pot together and everyone just pulls what they want from the pot. This game is very strange but I kinda love it. You get a message from an acquaintance you don’t see or talk to that much, inviting you to a Hot Pot place, their treat. You want the food, and see no harm in chatting. Then, instead of eating delicious food your friend just keeps wanting to talk. So now the game is to cook and eat as much tasty food as you can without burning it or losing track of the conversation so much that your friend gets mad. You have to look at them to see what they’re talking about, but you have to look down to make sure you have food cooking and that it doesn’t burn. You also have to grab food to put in the pot, take cooked food out and eat it, and periodically respond to the person who’s buying you this food. They’ll ask a question, and want a response. If you’ve been following, the response is obvious from the choices given. If you haven’t been listening to them regularly you won’t know what to say and might lose right there. You win when you fill up your belly and don’t anger your friend. This game makes me so hungry, and it would not be possible to do a Hot Pot in the current pandemic which makes me sad.

Once I find them in the 59 pages I have to sift through each time, I still have a couple more games to cover. I also have quite a few I want to try and a temporary break in classes so hopefully I’ll get to them.

Leave a comment